WVEA members among 2022 Teacher of the Year finalists

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — WVEA members Kelly Bryant, Kennedy Moore, Claire Jones, Kimberly Tenney and Craig Mason are among the finalists for the 2022 West Virginia Teacher of the Year award.

Bryant is a third-grade teacher at Logan Elementary School. Moore is a science and STEM teacher at Midland Trail High School in Fayette County. Jones is a visual arts teacher in Preston County. Tenney is a special education teacher at Webster County High School. Mason is a mathematics teacher at New Martinsville Elementary School in Wetzel County.

WVEA President Dale Lee noted teachers “went above and beyond the call of duty during this past year, supporting students, families and communities and helping them to survive and thrive during the pandemic. West Virginia is lucky to have caring and committed professionals such as these educating our students.”

Other announced finalists are:

  • Brian Casto, an eighth-grade West Virginia Studies teacher at Milton Middle School
  • Samantha Coble, a pre-K special education teacher at Keyser Primary School
  • Christine Lambert, a fourth-grade teacher at Brandwine Elementary School
  • Beth Nunley, a music teacher at Eastbrook Elementary School
  • Lindsey Stell, a teacher in the gifted program at Elkins Middle School

“These ten educators have a passion to teach the next generation of leaders, even under extreme circumstances, and have shown incredible resolve, ingenuity and heart,” state Superintendent of Schools Clayton Burch said. “We are honored to have them serving our students in West Virginia.”

The West Virginia Department of Education will announce the statewide Teacher of the Year on Sept. 7 in a ceremony at the state Culture Center in Charleston.