Delegates selected to attend NEA-RA

WVEA members were recently nominated to represent you as state delegates at the 2023 NEA Representative Assembly (NEA-RA) in Orlando, Florida. WVEA members attending the July 2–6 event are: Sara Ballengee (Mercer County); Adena Barnette-Miller (Jackson County); Lucinda Burns (Kanawha County); Jessica Dunn (Kanawha County); Gwendolyn Lacy (McDowell County); Dale Lee (Mercer County); Danielle Lee (Mercer County); Vera Miller (Cabell County); John Quesenberry (Raleigh County); Wayne
Spangler (Monroe County); and Angela Wyatt (Jefferson County). Doris Tuckerwiller-Wood (Berkeley County) and Leonard Walker (Fayette County) will represent WVEA-Retired. Jason Crouch (Fayette County) will be the Category II representative.

Each summer, approximately 6,000 educators meet to debate the vital issues that impact American public education and activities for the year ahead. These delegates represent the three million members of the NEA. The Representative Assembly is the primary legislative and policymaking body of the NEA, the strategic plan and budget, resolutions, the Legislative Program, and other policies. Delegates vote by secret ballot on proposed amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws. Those delegates with full voting rights elect the executive officers, Executive Committee members, and at-large members of the NEA Board of Directors, as appropriate.